Lagos State’s Horn Free Day

Posted: October 16, 2014 by myTHOUGHTStoSCREEN in NIGERIA
Tags: ,

22BFB047-0BB8-4E9C-AE2C-59E7BA849DF7 (1)

Hello beautiful people, it’s another beautiful Thursday, to the Lagosians Happy “Horn free day” in arrears. I was on my way to work on Monday when I heard that October 15th has been declared “Horn free day” in Lagos, “this jobless people have returned again” that was my first thought. How will that even be possible in Lagos of all places? What’s the essence? Alas I can tell you if I had counted the number of “LASTMA boys” that lined the roads i plied yesterday, they would have been over a hundred, all wearing horn free day reflective jackets. The exercise was quite serious unlike I had assumed.

The essence of this exercise according to the state’s governor is to “persuade citizens that THERE IS A BETTER WAY TO LIVEΒ than indulging in noise pollution which has been found to be harmful to their HEALTH“. I got a whole lot from the state governor’s speech regarding the horn free day, but I’ll discuss those that are quite dear to my heart.

My own understanding from the speech he gave regarding the exercise is that, horns contribute a huge deal to noise pollution in the state, which I really do agree with. But, the issue here is before he decided on the horn free day exercise; did he stop to ask himself and his able advisers why lagosians use their horns so much? If you drive on the mainland then I’m sure you can attest to the fact that if the use of car horns were to be proportional to the recklessness of danfo drivers, truck drivers and even the drivers of BRT buses then we will all be deaf! With the way these danfo drivers go about their driving even with them Fashola’s lastma boys present, if you were to not use your horn for a day I promise you’ll go home with half your car. Probably sensitizing them danfo, truck and BRT drivers should have been the first step.

If you’ve ever been around Oshodi, Iyanaipaja or Ketu bus stops and a load of other bus stops in the Lagos metropolis then I’m sure you can also attest to the fact that if you stand in any of those bus stops for more than 10 minutes, you are likely to go deaf by the 11th minute, every one who sells at those bus stops the woman sells bathroom slippers inclusive has a megaphone. The worst of them all are those that sell herbal drugs and supplements! GOKO cleanser the perfect example! Theirs isn’t just about the deafening noise they make in the name of adverts but the fact that the adverts are quite offensive (in my own opinion). Perhaps the governor should have put measures in place to stop this first.

Again I feel if indeed the governor is concerned about my health, maybe his first point of call should have been the huge potholes I have to deal with to get to my humble abode. I get home with backache, headache, and a host of “other aches” every day I decide to opt for public transport. All thanks to the fact that to avoid the crazy traffic caused by the fat potholes on the main route, they have to use freer alternate routes that have been abandoned for ages and have even fatter potholes. Then the days you then decide to drive you spend not less than 3hours on a journey that will normally take less than an hour all thanks to the fat potholes. A regular 8am to 5pm worker in Lagos gets no more than 5 to 6 hours of sleep at night, because they have to beat the traffic congestion. Traffic congestion mainly caused by pot holes and our lawless danfo drivers. I’m sure getting more sleep will definitely improve our health and is sure “a better way to live”. I’m also sure filling those potholes and sensitizing then danfo drivers and other road users will go a long way in “improving our health” that he seems quite concerned about.

I am very positive our jaws will drop if we get to know how much was earmarked for this “Horn free day” project. Dear Uncle Fashola please I think projects/exercises like “Pothole Free day” or “Fill A Pothole day” maybe even “Flog a lawless danfo driver day” will be of more benefit to Lagosians. Instead of creating another avenue for your Lastma boys to extort money from people who are just trying to get by.

DON’T FORGET TO DROP YOUR COMMENTSΒ 

UNTIL NEXT TIME….. EKΓ’ ONI BAJE O. XOXO

Comments
  1. Esther says:

    Lmfaaaoooo!!! The noise tho!! Immediately I saw the adverts n all, the first thing I tot of was “how’s Fashola going to pull this off?”. I knew this was another method to siphon money sha

    Like

  2. Ebike says:

    LMAO! I no dey Lasgiddy sha but Eko oni baje ooooo!

    Like

  3. Glowoaky says:

    Nice one. I wasn’t in Lagos myself and I got to hear of it later in the day . I have one question to ask, ‘How effective was this exercise’?

    Like

  4. nekesoul says:

    I have come to the conclusion that Fashola is tired and bored. Ur sentiments on this issue mirror mine exactly. Those goko cleanser people are the devil. Lmao. Oga Fashola, do something more meaningful abeg. I’m sure every Lagosian would much rather get home in time and in one piece than be bothered about noise. Well done.

    Like

  5. Gabosky says:

    Hmmm…Fashola!! I believe he was misinformed or probably discrepit in his thinking about this ‘horn-free thing’. I see it as a misplaced priority. An initiative with a wrong timing. Honestly, he should understand that the horn in a car isn’t there for fancy. That despite the honking or blaring of horns coupled with other similar sounds emitted by automobiles,traffic flow hasn’t been that smooth owing to several other pressing factors. Noise pollution isn’t restricted to automobiles. The points are countless. Maybe Fashola wanted all road users to exercise their vocal cords by screaming aloud to erring motorist…as a substitute to horn blaring! Keep it up..Ame!

    Like

  6. Gabosky says:

    Hmmm…Fashola!! I believe he was misinformed or probably discrepit in his thinking about this ‘horn-free thing’. I see it as a misplaced priority. An initiative with a wrong timing. Honestly, he should understand that the horn in a car isn’t there for fancy. That, despite the honking or blaring of horns coupled with other similar sounds emitted by automobiles,traffic flow hasn’t been that smooth owing to several other ‘pressing’ factors. Noise pollution isn’t restricted to automobiles. The points are countless. Maybe Fashola wanted all road users to exercise their vocal cords by screaming aloud to erring motorist…as a substitute to horn blaring! Keep it up..Ame!

    Like

I'D LIKE TO KNOW WHAT YOU THOUGHT OF THIS POST....

