THIS IS’NT REALLY A RANT- THE LASTMA TALE (2)

Posted: March 1, 2015 by myTHOUGHTStoSCREEN in LIFE LESSONS, NIGERIA, RANDOM THOUGHTS
Tags: , , ,

P.S: THIS IS’NT REALLY A RANT

rant1_0

 THIS ISN’T REALLY A RANT

Happy New Month people!!!! Welcome to the month of March, I trust you all had a blissful February; not to worry March promises to be better. I hope everyone is enjoying what’s left of their weekend, for behold Monday falls upon us tomorrow. I wouldn’t even classify Saturday as part of my weekend for the fact that I had to be in school yesterday. And as a result of the environmental sanitation exercise, the traffic to and fro was hell and yes I was very late for my class. In other news, the lecturer was this very very very hot and brainy young doctor. If I were to guess I would say she should be in her early 30’s. I just found a new motivation to get my PhD after this (getting my PhD before I’m 28 won’t be such a bad idea *flips brain*). Back to my LASTMA debacle, I’m still quite furious (well, a little less furious than I was on Wednesday). If you still haven’t read the first part of this post you aren’t too late. Click here.

You know how we lower our expectations from/of people so we don’t end up getting disappointed and just when we finally have a reason to lift our expectations, we get disappointed anyway. This is one of the reasons I was really pissed! I always have an absolute worst case scenario for every single situation (my friends call me a psycho for this sha; it can be really bad sometimes). The reason is just so I am prepared for whatever happens in the end. Unfortunately in this case I just never imagined anyone could be so wicked! My anger was for the fact that at first I was really happy to know we still had a few good LASTMA officers like him despite everything we hear about them, but in the end he proved himself to be the absolute worst! Nothing kills me more than getting disappointed like that.

Another infuriating fact I pulled from that experience was that most of our traffic control, vehicle inspection and security operatives in this country might just be the utter vilest! I’ve heard of so many cases where the complainant ends up becoming the culprit just because the officers need someone to take the fall/ are too lazy to carry out their duties/ just need to fill their pockets. The LASTMA officer said “Madam see ehn, ordinarily if it was another officer he would have directed you to pass one way, so that they will book you and you’ll pay #25,000. I’m just doing it for you because you looked responsible”. His statement has been a major reason for concern ever since. What are we to make of the fact that officers are willing to “lead you in the wrong path” just so they can fill their pockets?

This goes to show that just like our politicians, most of our security operatives are just after filling their pockets! They barely care for/about the people they have either sworn to serve or protect. Gabriel said on the previous post that letting the officer in was a risky move seeing as he could have had a weapon on him; my question is was I supposed to consider this being that I was dealing with “an officer”? Under normal circumstances the answer would be no, but seeing how everything turned out I probably should have had that in mind. Although I was very relieved and thus felt safer when I saw the officer at first, in the end I learnt that the same officers ought to be one of the problems I should be shielding myself from.

If the politicians only care about amassing wealth and the security operatives’ mostly care about filling their pockets, where does that leave me the ordinary citizen? Where do I run in time of trouble?

P.S: I already have Esther and Ifueko on the squad to find that officer: more recruits are welcomed!

UNTIL NEXT TIME…….. XOXO

DON’T FORGET TO DROP YOUR THOUGHTS….

Comments
  1. Gabosky says:

    Lol…another interesting post. You can get your Phd before you turn 28! But it will be lot easier for you if you consider doing it overseas. You’ve got the brain & ‘all’ it takes to succeed academically anywhere! As regards this LASTMA official,I’ve always nurtured this ideology that “you are ur best security”. I developed this ideology when my colleague told me about a prominent business man that was travelling on an evening with lump sum of cash for a business transaction. He then noticed some strange faces were after his trail and decided to divert to a nearby police station to pass the night for fear of attack. Unfortunately,the business man didn’t wake up the next day. Pls don’t ask me what happened overnight. I believe Nigeria still have a long way to go in many aspect. And I pray God will help us.

    Like

I'D LIKE TO KNOW WHAT YOU THOUGHT OF THIS POST....

